top of page

African-American Pulitzer Prize Winners: A History of Courage and Excellence

African Americans have been making significant contributions to journalism for many years, and the Pulitzer Prize is a testament to the skill, talent, and dedication of these writers. Throughout history, many African American journalists have won Pulitzer Prizes for their exceptional work in various categories, including investigative reporting, feature writing, and commentary. Some of the notable African-American Pulitzer Prize winners include:

  • Isabel Wilkerson, who won the Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing in 1994 for her series of articles on the Great Migration of African Americans from the South to the North in the 20th century.

  • Eugene Robinson, who won the Pulitzer Prize for Commentary in 2009 for his columns on the 2008 presidential campaign and the economic crisis.

  • Toni Morrison, who won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1988 for her novel "Beloved"

  • Henry Lewis Gates Jr, who won the Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction in 1979 for his book "The Signifying Monkey: A Theory of Afro-American Literary Criticism"

  • Ida B Wells Barnett, who won the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service in 2018 posthumously for her pioneering investigative journalism in the 1890s that exposed the horrors of lynching in the United States.

These are only a few examples of the many African American journalists who have won Pulitzer Prizes and whose work continues to inspire and inform readers today. Their achievements represent a legacy of courage and excellence in journalism and a continued commitment to telling the stories that matter most.



Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page